Persistent Pupillary Membrane

I really thought I had already shared this photo here, but when I went looking for it, I couldn’t find it!  So I’m sharing it now. 😛

It was by photographing my own eyes that I discovered the persistent pupillary membrane in my left eye.  I don’t recall my eye doctor ever saying anything about it, though he probably mentioned it to my mom when I was little.  And if it’s not an issue, why bring it up again, right?  But it worried me when I saw it while looking through the photos I’d taken.  So… like most anyone would do, I did a Google search for “string across pupil” –or something like that. 😛

After reading some about it, I decided, like I said earlier, that it wasn’t an issue.  I still haven’t mentioned it to my eye doctor, though I may bring it up sometime just to see what he has to say about it.

Anyway, after noticing this membrane, I started trying to get a better photo of it.  While this isn’t an amazing photo or anything, it’s still pretty detailed and you can see the membrane quite clearly– and that’s why I like it. 😉

img_1864

5 comments

    1. From what I remember….. it’s a membrane that’s on the pupil during development. That membrane usually goes away on it’s own before or shortly after birth. Sometimes, though, parts of the membrane remain & that is called persistent pupillary membrane. In some cases, I understand, it causes vision impairment & surgery must be done.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I know.
        No, mine hasn’t ever caused any trouble as far as I know. Didn’t even know it was there until I was in my 20’s. My dr. may have mentioned it to mom when I was younger… but if it wasn’t an issue there really was no reason for us to remember it, you know?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s some good news there! (: Oh, that makes perfect sense! It’s neat you found out, cause really, I don’t think many people at all would notice if they had it! Pretty cool! (;

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

